What Order To Read Throne Of Glass?


If you’re a fan of the Throne of Glass series, then you’re in for a treat. With seven main novels, a prequel novella, and several spin-off books, there’s a lot of material to get through. But with so many books, it can be tough to figure out the proper order in which to read them. That’s why we’ve put together this guide to help you navigate the Throne of Glass world.

The Main Novels

The main Throne of Glass series consists of seven books, and it’s best to read them in order. The books are:

Throne of Glass (Book 1)

This is the first book in the series, and it introduces us to the main character, Celaena Sardothien. Celaena is an assassin who is serving a life sentence in the salt mines of Endovier. The book follows her journey from prisoner to champion.

Crown of Midnight (Book 2)

In this book, Celaena is now the King’s Champion, but she’s still keeping secrets from those around her. She’s tasked with assassinating key members of the rebellion, but she begins to question her loyalty to the king.

Heir of Fire (Book 3)

In Heir of Fire, Celaena travels to Wendlyn to train with the Fae Queen Maeve. She meets new friends and enemies along the way, and learns more about her past.

Queen of Shadows (Book 4)

This book sees Celaena returning to Adarlan to seek revenge against those who wronged her. She’s joined by old and new allies, and the stakes are higher than ever.

Empire of Storms (Book 5)

In Empire of Storms, the war between the rebels and the king intensifies. Celaena and her allies must band together to save their world from destruction.

Tower of Dawn (Book 6)

This book focuses on Chaol Westfall, a former captain of the guard who is healing from his injuries in Antica. He meets new friends and allies, and uncovers a plot that could change the course of the war.

Kingdom of Ash (Book 7)

The final book in the series sees Celaena and her allies facing off against the king and his army in a final battle. The fate of their world hangs in the balance.

The Prequel Novella

In addition to the main novels, there is also a prequel novella that should be read before starting the series. The novella is:

The Assassin’s Blade

The Assassin’s Blade consists of five short stories that follow Celaena’s adventures before the events of Throne of Glass. It introduces us to some of the key characters in the series, and provides important backstory for Celaena.

Spin-Off Books

In addition to the main series and the prequel novella, there are several spin-off books set in the Throne of Glass world. While these books can be read independently of the main series, it’s recommended that you read them after finishing the main novels. The spin-off books are:

Tower of Dawn (Book 6)

While Tower of Dawn is technically part of the main series, it can also be considered a spin-off book since it focuses on a different character. It’s recommended that you read this book after Empire of Storms, but before Kingdom of Ash.

The World of Throne of Glass

The World of Throne of Glass is a companion book that provides more information about the world and characters of the series. It’s best read after finishing the main novels.

Throne of Glass Coloring Book

The Throne of Glass Coloring Book is a fun way to relax and unwind after finishing the series. It features intricate designs inspired by the world of Throne of Glass.


In conclusion, the proper order in which to read the Throne of Glass series is: 1. The Assassin’s Blade (prequel novella) 2. Throne of Glass (Book 1) 3. Crown of Midnight (Book 2) 4. Heir of Fire (Book 3) 5. Queen of Shadows (Book 4) 6. Empire of Storms (Book 5) 7. Tower of Dawn (Book 6) 8. Kingdom of Ash (Book 7) Once you’ve finished the main novels, you can read the spin-off books in any order. Happy reading!